German who was in search of Serbian father succeeds

Posted on June 13, 2013 by

1



Last summer Wolfgang Petzold, 58, from Dresden decided to, at long last, travel the 100 kilometers distance to his remote birth place of Kuhnhaide. Little did he know that his simple passion to discover more about his family’s roots would lead him to his biological father – a Serbian World War II POW.

Wolfgang Petzold

– I never dreamed of what impact my trip down the memory lane would have on me, he began his testimony in a conversation with Blic.

Up until last year, Wolfgang lived in the knowledge of being the son of Rudolf Wolfgang, a carpenter born in 1905, who died in 1984. However it would later turn out his mother Freda was in a relationship with a Serbian prisoner of war in the summer of 1944 and eventually gave birth to a child.

frida

Attempted suicide
Wolfgang Petzold recalls that his parents’ marriage was a harmonious one. However, the knowledge that Rudolf was his real father also lead him to recollect certain childhood events.
– I remember I always wondered why my mother had mental problems and why she attempted to take her own life on multiple occasions in the 1950s, said Wolfgang Petzold.

Mother Frida  

– I discovered that all in the family house. There I found a tenant, two years older than me, who remembers me as a boy because she used to push me around in a stroller. Her mother had recently died and her heritage was a few photos, documents and articles, said Wolfgang.

A newspaper article told a story of a Serbian captive who worked as a labourer in a landlord’s estate in Kuhnhaide showing a photograph of the man taken at the time.

Vitomir Boskovic

Serbian POW, Vitomir Boskovic, Wolfgang’s biological father

– I was so surprised that I had to sit down on a bench. The Serbian soldier staring at me from the photograph looked  entirely like me, said Petzold.

Upon making this discovery, Wolfgang did a DNA test compared against that of 14 years older cousin and it turned out she was his  half of the blood  sister.

Radojica Miljkovic

Since then Wolfgang has been on a quest to find his biological father, who he firmly believes was a Serbian soldier. He was also aided by journalist Milorad Zivojinov, the Freie Presse newspaper, the International Red Cross and the German Missing Persons Bureau.
The article led to a witness who claimed to have known a certain Radojica Miljkovic – a Serb from the village of Selevac, who had spent the wartime in captivity in Germany. He later returned to Belgrade, had two daughters and eventually passed away in 1996.

– Last May I was in Belgrade to meet Radojica Miljkovic’s daughters and visit his grave. However, DNA tests were inconclusive about whether the people were 100% my blood relatives, says Wolfgang, who is convinced Radojica was his father, and if not that man, then it must have been a Serbian prisoner of war of time in Germany.

Thanks to DNA test, Wolfgang finally identified who his biological father was – Serbian captain and war prisoner Vitomir Boskovic, from Svilajnac, Serbia.
Few days ago Wolfgang met his Serbian brothers, uncles and grandchildren.

,,I feel I belong here” – he said with trembling voice.
” I am glad to know that despite the World war and hatred, my parents – both of them – have been brave enough to love each other, even though they have been on the opposite sides.  May this story be the message to all and everyone. ”

Blic, Vesti, RTS

Posted in: Uncategorized